What is Joint Commission International Accreditation Standards for Hospitals?

What is Joint Commission International Accreditation Standards for Hospitals?

JCI standards serve as the foundation of an evaluation process that can help health care organizations like yours measure, assess, and improve performance. It’s our goal to develop standards that promote quality and ensure patient safety. JCI develops standards with input and information from: Health care organizations.

Why is JCI accreditation important?

Having a JCI accreditation, an organization demonstrates high quality of patient care and a desire for continuous improvement. JCI makes the accreditation all the more important to the medical tourism hospitals. JCI accreditation means high quality health care services all around the globe.

How do you define the Joint Commission International?

An independent, not-for-profit organization, Joint Commission International (JCI) accredits and certifies health care organizations and programs across the globe. Joint Commission International accreditation and certification is recognized as a global leader for health care quality of care and patient safety.

READ ALSO:   What is the interest calculation method?

How many standards are there in JCI?

Since we last updated our standards in 2003, we have learned additional lessons and best practices from the many hospitals we accredit around the world -there are currently about 140 hospitals in 26 countries accredited by JCI – and we have incorporated those lessons into 323 standards, that hospitals must meet to …

What are the 6 JCI goals of safety?

  • What are national patient safety goals and why are they important?
  • IPSG Goal One – Identify Patients Correctly.
  • IPSG Goal Two – Improve Effective Communication.
  • IPSG Goal Three – Improve the safety of high-Alert Medications.
  • IPSG Goal Four – Ensure correct Site, Correct Procedure, Correct Patient Surgery.

Is Joint Commission accreditation required?

Is accreditation or certification mandatory? No. Health care organizations, programs, and services voluntarily pursue accreditation and certification.

What is the difference between Joint Commission and Joint Commission International?

The Joint Commission is a United States-based nonprofit tax-exempt 501(c) organization that accredits more than 22,000 US health care organizations and programs. The international branch accredits medical services from around the world.

READ ALSO:   Who can make a nursing diagnosis?

What is the difference between Joint Commission certification and accreditation?

The Joint Commission’s certification programs, are designed to evaluate clinical programs across the continuum of care. Joint Commission accredited health care organizations may seek certification for care and services provided for virtually any chronic disease or condition.

Is my hospital Joint Commission accredited?

You can check to see if a hospital has been accredited by visiting www.qualitycheck.org and entering your search information. Surgical Centers are accredited and evaluated by the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC) and The Joint Commission.

How do I apply for JCI?

To begin the accreditation process as a new applicant, go to www.jointcommissioninternational.org/achieve-hospitals and submit the “Request More Information” webform. You will then receive an email with a link to register with JCI accreditation.