Guidelines

What happens when you reset Synology NAS?

What happens when you reset Synology NAS?

Resetting the Synology NAS does not impact its data. However, we strongly recommend launching Backup & Replication (available on DSM 5.2) or Hyper Backup (available from DSM 6.0) to back up data and system configurations before the reset. Refer to the Synology Assistant Help page for definitions of device status.

Should I restart NAS?

Never, unless you need to. A QTS firmware update is the most common reason for a reboot being necessary.

How do I reset Synology without losing data?

This mode wipes out all system configurations and carries out all the reset functions included in Mode 1. Locate the RESET button on your Synology NAS. Press and hold down the RESET button for about 4 seconds until you hear a beep. Release the button immediately.

READ ALSO:   Does phenol react with K2CO3?

How do I soft reset Synology?

Soft reset your Synology Router Use a paper clip to gently press and hold the RESET button for 4 seconds. Your Synology Router will then start a soft reset. When the soft reset is complete, launch a web browser on a computer that is being connected to your Synology Router via Ethernet.

How do I reboot my Synology router?

In Control Panel > Device > Reboot Schedule, you can set up a one-time or recurring schedule for your Synology Router to reboot.

How often should you restart server?

We recommend doing a reboot at least once per month. The Dedicated Hosting Servers are just computers, you would not leave your computer on for months straight without a single reboot, so the same rules apply for servers.

How long does it take Synology NAS to reboot?

Wait for the NAS to reinstall DSM and reboot itself. This usually takes 15 minutes or so. When the NAS has rebooted, click the “Connect” button.

READ ALSO:   Why is Leonardo da Vinci still important today?

Can I power off my NAS?

If you want to shutdown or restart your Synology NAS via the web-based interface, you’ll need to log in and look to the icons in the upper right corner. Click the options menu, indicated by the little head and shoulders bust icon. From there you can select either “Restart” or “Shutdown” to perform the desired task.

How do I completely wipe my Synology NAS?

Login to DSM, and then open up the “Control Panel” window. Click the “Update & Restore” option. Switch to the “Reset” tab at the top. Hit the red “Erase All Data” button.

How do I reinstall Synology NAS?

Open up Synology Assistant, and then double-click your NAS drive (it will say “Configuration Lost” next to it) to access it. Click the “Re-install” button. Next, hit the green “Install Now” button. Wait for the NAS to reinstall DSM and reboot itself.